11th International Dormouse Conference, 9-13 May 2022

The International Dormouse Conference or IDC is being organised every three years to gather scientists, conservationists, naturalists and volunteers to exchange knowledge and experience on dormice (Gliridae). The 11th conference will take place in Svilengrad, Bulgaria, in the centre of the realm of Roach’s mouse-tailed dormouse (Myomimus roachi).

Welcoming City of Svilengrad

Svilengrad is a historical city along the river Maritsa at the point where the borders of Bulgaria, Turkey and Greece meet. It is here where the rarest dormouse of Europe lives: Roach’s mouse-tailed dormouse (Myomimus roachi).
The town is founded on the ruins of an ancient Thracian settlement. Later the Romans build a settlement serving the road connecting Philippopolis (Plovdiv) and Adrianople (Edirne) in the Roman Empire.
Svilengrad is one of the largest road customs in Europe and an important gate to the EU. Svilengrad is connected with a highway to Sofia and Plovdiv, which continues to Edirne and Istanbul in Turkey, and to Alexandroupolis in Greece.
Maritsa river, which flows through the town, crosses a wide valley that divides the two mountain ranges – Sakar and the Rhodope mountains.
Both mountains host rich biological diversity and are declared as NATURA 2000 areas.
Due to the suitable climate the region is famous for its wines and wine estates.
Svilengrad has a friendly pedestrian zone with small cafes, bars and shops; in the town edges casinos and hotels make the best out of the country border location of the town.
For more information visit this link.

Organisers and Sponsors

Organising committee

Svetlana Miteva, The Habitat Foundation
Dennis Wansink, The Habitat Foundation
Nedko Nedyalkov, National Museum of Natural History
Sylvia Tosheva, National Museum of Natural History

For questions, please send an email to: idc.bulgaria2020@gmail.com

Scientific committee

The Scientific committee gives advice on the scientific program and evaluates applications for grants. The committee consists of:
Pat Morris (United Kingdom), Rimvydas Juškaitis (Lithuania), Boris Kryštufek (Slovenia), Peter Adamik (Czech Republik), Sandro Bertolino (Italy), Joanna Fietz (Germany), Sven Büchner (Germany), Alice Mouton (Belgium)